Adrenal Fatigue Doctor Review - Dr. Michael Lam

by Elise
(Pittsburgh PA)

I found Dr. Lam through his website listed below. I have been working with Dr. Lam via phone consultation because I have not found a doctor in my area as of yet. It can be a costly commitment, but he has been willing to work with me at a discounted rate since October 2009 when I lost my job. He has done an extreme amount of research on Adrenal Fatigue and has helped me tremendously. If you do not have a doctor available in your area Dr. Lam may be a solution. His website is www.DrLam.com, he is available via email as well and will pre-determine if he can help you and answer questions.

Michael Lam, M.D., M.P.H., A.B.A.A.M. is a specialist in Preventive and Anti-Aging Medicine. He received his Bachelor of Science degree from Oregon State University, and his Doctor of Medicine degree from Loma Linda University School of Medicine, California. He also holds a Masters of Public Health degree and is Board Certification in Anti-aging Medicine by the American Board of Anti-Aging Medicine. He has authored numerous articles and the following books: The Five Proven Secrets to Longevity, How to Stay Young and Live Longer, Estrogen Dominance - Hormonal Imbalance of the 21st Century, and Beating Cancer with Natural Medicine.

Comments for Adrenal Fatigue Doctor Review - Dr. Michael Lam

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 17, 2014
Haven't had a phone consultation yet. NEW
by: Sarah

Although I was considering this. I know I definitely will not and cannot afford extra consultations. Even at a discounted price. His information is good. But I think I need more face to face help and even though we would be speaking over the phone. He has many customers and the approach isnt going to be one that takes its time to really help you step by step. I dont want to feel like im doing this all alone. This will stress me more and all the money involved will stress me more and that wont help this dreadful fatigue andbstress/anxiety I already deal with. Although I'm feeling a little disheartened not knowing what will happen and if this will ever get better.. I am seeing a naturopath and going to have tests in a few weeks to test my thyroid, adrenal and reproductive hormone levels. I am going to stick with her and go from there with small steps. Dr lam seems to know what he's doing but the overload of info actually just stressed me out more. Like taking supplements and how that can be bad but he also sells supplements? And how can they know just with phone consultations who will respond well to what supplements and who wont? And im not sure how his differ to other supplements? I dunno man. I always say if something is making you overthink too much its probably not thr right approach. So this probably isn't for me. I will stick with my naturopathic doctor and trust the process.

Dec 31, 2013
Great read! NEW
by:

I really love Dr. Lam's website, but sometimes get lost in all the detail. You may want to check out this article. It's well written and very easy to understand. I learned a ton in a few short pages about why I've felt the way I have for so long. Apparently the doctor who wrote it is a well known adrenal doctor in Michigan who also does genetic testing for the cause of chronic fatigue, anxiety, hypoglycemia, etc. LOL

http://nbwellness.com/topics/stress-recovery/

Feb 13, 2013
To Greg
by: Laura

Hi Greg,
You are one very lucky person indeed. How wonderful that you discovered what was making you ill. I have chronic fatigue syndrome. I ate ONLY cooked greens and protein for 9 months and got sicker than I had ever been, so I do not think a gluten free diet cures CFS nor do I think it cures AF. Perhaps you are allergic to gluten. It is a good thing that you posted your experience, as it is bound to help others.

Laura

Feb 13, 2013
I'm cured - this may help you
by: Greg

Hi everyone,

I am 100% cured of my 'adrenal fatigue'. I've been very unwell for over 7 months now (bed bound in July) and been diagnosed with AF by naturopaths and via self diagnosis. Allopathic doctors either didn't know what to say or suggested the possibility of CFS (chronic fatigue syndrome).

My cure? Cutting out gluten. Yes that's right. All of my AF symptoms such as extreme fatigue, foggy brain, balance issues, low stress threshold, irritability are also symptoms of gluten intolerance! I had no idea. Check out various celiac websites.

I figured this out while travelling in China where they don't eat a lot of wheat based food. All of sudden I was feeling good until I had a big bowl of wheat noodles one day.

Three weeks has passed and I feel amazing. 100% in every way. All symptoms gone. I haven't been tested for gluten intolerance but the drastic health rebound is just too convincing to ignore. I got my life back!!!!! Now within 15 minutes of ingesting gluten I'm back to AF symptoms and the rest of the day is shot.

If even a handful of you suffering these challenging symptoms are secretly gluten intolerant, I urge everyone to try cutting it out of your diet for a month and seeing what happens. It's no risk for the possibility of getting healthy again. I know how bad you're feeling. Will you try?

Same goes for CFS folks as the symptoms are so similar and I, for one, do not accept what the CFS societies say about, "start lowering expectations for your life" when they also acknowledge they don't know what causes CFS or how to do anything more than manage symptoms.

I'm with you. Good luck.

Greg





Feb 03, 2013
To Lauren
by: laura

Hi Lauren,
I am so sorry to hear of your struggles. Yes, my blood levels for SED rates were checked. I do not have Lupus. And no the sun does not feel good initially. It makes me feel like I am going to die immediately. But that was without the medication I take. The med helps a lot. The 3 things I HAVE to be viligant about are diet, sleep, and stress. I can not eat Sugar at all! No flour, now have started a macrobiotic diet and will see if that helps.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to me.
laura

Jan 29, 2013
Laura please read!
by: Lauren

Laura,
After reading your post, an I also live in south florida, i thought i would tell you to look up about LUPUS. I have been diagnosed and have all same symptoms as you...does the sun make it worse? like you feel better for a few minutes (like your body is sucking up all the vit D it can) than bam not feeling so well? sun (UV lights) make lupus worse, we live in south fl, little unfair huh?? i also am in renal fatigue heading toward failure, i also have to take adderall just to do basic life things IE: shower, dress, i have an 8 year old so school and homework, cook, occasionally grocery shop....thats about all i can do i get so exhausted. I truley wish you the best and reccomend you get bllodwork done to test your ANA levels and anti double strand DNA....as well as SED rate (this is how a dr knows how much inflammation is going on inside) PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE its worth looking into...i was diagnosed 3 years ago and am just now coming to terms with everything. even if not, atleast thats one thing off the checklist of could be's and what you desscribe is a good could be...its not fun, but atleast you will have a name to go with the face that leaves you feeling like a MAC truck has repeatedly smacked into you over and over for about a year....if you want more info please contact me back and ill get info. I see Dr. Christine Savage at University of Miami school of medicine (shes asst. prof. to rheumatology there so shes good and has made my life, well somewhat livable, shes been able to work miracles in as far as keeping me "alive"---i was in really bad shape when i started with her, BAD BAD shape....like 60mg of prednisone a day for 2 years bad shape....yes SIXTY mg a day....no wonder my adrenal glands said "we surrender!" ;0)

Dec 14, 2012
Heavy Metals first...
by: Health Guy

Hey!

I think it cannot be overstated the importance of
getting your heavy metals out. This is very simple
actually and not that expensive.

This is a good site which gives a good overview of
the concept:
http://www.detoxmetals.com/

To remove them consider the powdered zeolite and
Cilantro type "Heavy Metal Detox" products on
iHerb. I just started the Cilantro one by Planetary
Herbals and it's amazing. I also use the Zeolite
to eliminate the minor detox feeling.

Seriously, if you have metals wreaking havoc what
chance do you have getting well till they are gone? Do some reading, even without a test you can
be assured you have too many.

Best of health all!!!

Dec 03, 2012
homo pills
by: Anonymous

Hi Laura

I have a poodle and my name is bell.

I have answered this but its not on site so probably be on twice now.

Does the homo pills have a name, a friend is on nux vom for a mild detox.

I am doing the lympth drainage and its making me worse but thats how its supposed to work, wish I could find others who have tried it.

Are you feeling a lot better now with the supplements.

poodlebell


Dec 03, 2012
Empathy for you
by: laura

Dear Poodlebell,
I am so sorry to hear of your symptoms. They sound somewhat similar to mine and I have chronic fatigue syndrome. Have you been diagnosed with CFS? I think they call it ME or myalgic encephalomyelitis in the UK, which is a better name.

I didn't take any homeopathic pills. Only drops.
Do you have a homeopathic practitioner helping you?

Please keep me informed.

Sincerely,
Laura


Dec 03, 2012
homo pills
by: Anonymous

Hi Laura,

I have a poodle and my name is bell.

I have headache and pressure, noise in ears, sick feeling and aching and tired all the time

The lympth treatment is making me worse but its supposed to do that before it gets you better, wish I knew of others who have tried this.

What was the homo pill that you took.

I know of one lady who has taken nux vom and it has improved her a little

poodlebell

Dec 02, 2012
Homeopathic Drops
by: Laura

Hi Poodlebell,
DesBio AND HVS Laboratories make the homeopathic drops I take.
I love your name by the way.
Laura

Dec 02, 2012
Homeopathic Drops
by: Laura

Hi Poodlebell,
In your first question you asked about homeopathic drops. The DesBio company makes the homeopathic drops I take. I did include the supplements and yes I did read that you can't take supplements, so I shouldn't have included that info, sorry.
How are you doing physically?
Sincerely,
Laura

Dec 01, 2012
to Laura
by: Anonymous

Hi Laura

yes I did get a notification.

Thank you for letting me know what you are taking, unfortunately I dont do well with any supplements, which is why I have started the Perrins, but that is making me worse too, but I will keep the supplements in case I can take them later on.

poodlebell

Nov 30, 2012
To Poodlebell
by: Laura

I see that you asked your question on Oct 5. I was just notified today by email that there was a response on this page. So I am sorry it took this long to answer you! I hope you are notified of this email.

Nov 30, 2012
To Poodlebell
by: Laura

The remedies I use are from three main companies:
Premier Research Labs (Supplements: Premier Daily One Multivitamin and AdrenaVen for adrenal support).
DesBio Company (Deseret Biologicals, Inc. Sandy, Utah) Homeopathics: Systemic Drainage and Detox III. Other company: HVS Laboratories (Naples, Florida)Homeopathics "Chemicals" "Dental" and "Acute Stress."

Hope this is helpful. All the best to you.
Laura

Nov 29, 2012
lympth drainage
by: poodlebell

Hi

thank you for the link, at the moment I have just started to have lympth drainage, would be interested if anyone else has tried this.


Nov 29, 2012
lympth drainage
by: poodlebell

Hi

thank you for the link, at the moment I have just started to have lympth drainage, would be interested if anyone else has tried this.


Nov 28, 2012
Alternate possibilities...
by: Health Guy

Hey Poodlebell:

I saw your comment about things always make you worse, and I just had to post what I have discovered.

Have a look at this page regarding Polarity Reversals, I think there's something there.
http://barbfeick.com/cfs/cause/chronic_reversed_polarity.htm
There's a link at the bottom to a page with some exercises to correct it.

This discovery lead me to also discover the world of "Emotional Freedom Technique" or EFT. Google it or especially look on Youtube for some phenominal stories of people being cured quickly of Chronic Fatigue, Fibromyalgia and more.

This is a good page too:
http://www.proeft.com/

It's great! No supplements, and exercises you can do for free yourself!!

Good luck!!

Oct 05, 2012
adrenal fatigue
by: poodlebell

Hi Laura

I have problems from coming off the antidepressant seroxat, I was on it for migraine.

I have had an adrenal test and am in fatigue. My problem is that I cant take meds or supplements whithout them affecting me and making me worse.

I would be very interested to know what homopathetic drops you was given to detox the body.

I am in England so would not be able to contact your dr.

many thanks

Oct 05, 2012
Questions
by: Laura

If anyone does have a question for me, regarding my long comment and how I received help; I signed up to receive emails when someone posts a comment on this page. So you could ask questions that way and I will respond on this comment page.

Oct 05, 2012
I FOUND HELP~PLS READ
by: Laura

Reading all these comments has been very interesting. I have been sick for 5 1/2 years with chronic fatigue syndrome. And I think adrenal fatigue. I was bedbound, out of work a total of 6 months since I got sick in 2007. And most of 2009 I worked but felt like I wanted to die and was really too sick to work, but had no choice. I live in Southwest Florida and no doctor was helpful to me, just told me I was depressed. I knew it wasn't just "depression" with the symptoms I had. Painful swollen glands in my neck, tremendous pressure in my ears,low grade fevers, bone crushing fatigue, excruciating pain in my wrists, dizziness, horrible sore throat that felt like strep, extreme sensitivity to noise, odors, chemicals, being touched, inability to sleep, although exhausted. My insides felt breakable like glass. I tried everything to get better. Holistic doctor had me eat only cooked greens and protein and supplements, I got worse. Heard through the grapevine about Adderall. That has been the miracle drug for me. I take generic Adderall EXTENDED RELEASE. This is an amphetamine and it takes away my symptoms. I know it is just masking them, but I had to be able to work. Then I started working with Dr. Frank Schwimmer in Sarasota, FL. He is a chiropractor and a homeopathic healer. He detoxed me from chemicals with homeopathic drops. He has advised me about my diet. He has HELPED me 1000%. I was able to cut my Adderall dose in half. He charges very little compared to any other doctor, western or holistic. He works with my emotional issues, better than my psychotherapist. I know that stress must be avoided, since my adrenals are involved, when I get upset my glands immediately used to get swollen, now I am so much better. I just had to post this, I so much want to help people who feel desperate. I wish I could put my email address here, but I guess that would not be wise. If you are desperate you could contact Dr. Schwimmer at 941-365-7111. He will work with people over the phone, but probably would need to see you in person to start. He is NOT in this for the money. I trust him completely. He is a true healer in every sense of the word. I am a psychotherapist myself, and very pragmatic and not into anything new agey. Dr. Schwimmer is a very conservative man, probably in his late 60's. He is so kind but most of all knows how to heal a person on every level. He has saved my life. When I first met him I was gray and could barely sit up, and I was on the Adderall. In two weeks he had me pink. I have continued to make progress, but have to still be very careful about how much I physically exert myself. I felt so well 3 weeks ago I over did it doing yard work and have suffered a set back, not bedbound, but the earaches and swollen glands and no energy. So it was another lesson I had to learn about not pushing myself! And that I still have to take care. I wish all the best to everyone in their personal search for health.

Sep 29, 2012
Great website but need personalized care
by: CC



I have learned more about my condition on Dr. Lam's website than all other AF web resources combined. His work is even more complete than Dr. Wilson. That said if his phone consultation services were more personable and they spent more time with you for what is charged it would be better. I started the process, but it was too cost prohibitive for me. I live in Ann Arbor Michigan and found a doctor I can actually sit with and that was the best decision I ever made. A doctor can do so much more for you face to face. That said, my new doctor also does time-based phone consults…

My advice: Try to find a doctor near you if possible. If you can't, then work with a caring and knowledgeable physician over the phone who really knows AF and who charges based on the amount of time he/she actually spends with you.

For those in Michigan or near by. You should check out Dr. Boggess. I found him on this forum (don't know how to link though) website is nbwellness.com

I've been down this road for years and really feel like I'm finally heading in the right direction. I'd warn everyone from trying to do this on there own like I did --its too complex... to many idiosyncrasies and too many variables. What is confusing and frustrating to us as individuals with AF is a cake walk for doctors who have seen it hundreds of times before.

Best of Luck to everyone!

CC

Sep 24, 2012
yet another option
by: Anonymous

I just wanted to add to my last post that there are also other options other than Dr Wilson, etc.. since that route can be a lot of work and slow.

I am reminded of a saying "When you're a hammer, everything looks like a nail". I do wonder if Dr. Lam takes on people who do not in fact have adrenal fatigue. This would explain why some of his methods are counter productive. And there would be a greater risk in taking on non-adrenal fatigue sufferers if you take them on over the phone, and also disregard actual tests.

I am now trying some other products which are more along the hormonal route and will see how they go. Some here may want to as well since they are cheap and safe.

I am going to try:
1-Maca (read about it, it's amazing!)
2-Tongkat Ali
3-Nettle Root (w/Chrysin), and perhaps
4-Creatine

From what I read on various sites, and iHerb users, any one of those can have profound effects.

Good luck all!!!

Sep 19, 2012
Another option
by: Anonymous

Very interesting thread!

I was considering his services too, but feel he did not do enough by way of reviewing the presubmitted form and questions to convince me this was actually the problem. It seems you find that out in the first $800 call...kinda late.

To me it seems the sure solution to this and all ailments is this approach:
www.drLWilson.com
which is what I am considering now.

It's not fast, but I believe it's more sure and comprehensive.

But if people haven't tried coffee enemas, you should really look into it. They are profound.

Aug 28, 2012
Dr lam helped me
by: Anonymous

 I was on thyroid and other stimulants for many years that sustained me but gradually make me worse. Dr Lam helped to break and reverse this  cycle.  It takes time. You need to be patient.  4 weeks is hardly enough time. Before I got started, he told me it will take him 8 weeks just to stabilize me ,and he was right on the money. You are in good hands.  Liver and adrenals are tied in for sure. I was on antibiotic also and that made my liver congested and he was able to help that. If you don't have the patience or want a quick fix, his approach of focusing on the root problem will not work for you. 

Aug 24, 2012
would love anyone's input
by: Lynn

I started with Dr Lam a few weeks ago. I've had this AF for 3 years and crashed this summer. So far I've had some bad effects from his supplements. We've scaled back and still problems. Dr Lam claims I have trouble clearing them out of my system bc of sluggish liver. So my question is why have I not had these problems with my supplements doctors have put me on previously to treat AF. Am I wasting my time and money? I've had zero good results since I started a month ago. Do you always have to suffer through an adjustment period or are his supplements just not for me...trying to decide what to do....any info will be so appreciated!!!!!

Aug 20, 2012
great experience
by: Anonymous

I had my first appointment with Dr. Lam today. I spent an hour on the phone with him and his staff where they went into detail on the things I am suppose to do. We went through the lifestyle changes I would need to make, my dietary changes, and supplements to take. It quite an interesting approach Dr. Lam takes to adrenal fatigue and his customers. During my call with him, he told me that I had to be committed to getting better and taking the steps necessary. If I wasn't ready to do that, then he would not take me on as a customer and it was a waste of both of our time. I actually like his style of approach! Its no BS and straight to the point. Quite refreshing I might say. Hopefully all goes well!

Aug 17, 2012
Honest
by: Akhess01

I contacted Dr Lam via email after stumbling across his site. I was just about to place an order for Dr. Wilson's adrenal quartet. I explained my situation to him and that I was interested in trying supplements to get off of the steroids. He told me that taking supplements could actually make me worse and that I likely needed to be on the Meds I was on. I don't know if this is true or not but I can say that I was a likely customer and the man told me not to use supplements. He did tell me to buy his book and to contact him after reading it. That is the only push to buy I got from him.

Aug 16, 2012
Just because he is a Dr. does not mean it is not a scam
by: Anonymous

His customer selction process is designed to weed out those who will not be docile-happy-paying-customers.

Jul 31, 2012
Dr Lam knows what he's talking about.
by: Anonymous

I have been following this website and I just had a telephone appointment with Dr.Lam and would like to share how it went. I came in with certain expectations and questions in mind based on what I have read but at the end I was blown away. I have many experiences with so called experts but it is clear very quickly that Dr.Lam is different. He has extensive clinical experience. He knows what he is doing and his limitations. Unlike others that led me on and then abandoned me at the end, he told me bluntly what he thought. I learned a lot. After a long talk, Dr.Lam told me that I do not qualify for his program, even after I told him his charges are not an issue. At first I was disappointed and even angry, but I appreciate his honesty. I have learned that only people that really care will spend the time to tell you things you may not want to hear. I do have to agree that his tone is rather dry, but at this point I don't really care about the delivery but more about the content. I think my situation is unique, with lots of sensitivities and paradoxical reactions in addition to fatigue. He did give me some practical suggestions on what to do and I am grateful for the free advice, something not easy to get nowadays from someone who is truly an expert in the field. I wished I had talked to him earlier.

I don't really have any experiences working long term with him so I cannot give you a positive or negative report on that. Anyone that has serious adrenal fatigue should start by reading his book which will give you much more information than what is on his website. If you want to know what to do specifically, it may be better to call in.

Dr.Lam seems to be pretty upfront about his relationship with supplementclinic.com as also mentioned on his website. He may have realized the importance to disclose it to the public. From my experience, practically every well-known or reputable natural health practitioners has their own line of formulations or closely associated with one. I don't see it as a bad thing as that means they are familiar with what you are taking and can help you adjust. I would have a different opinion if he tried to sway me during our appointment but he did no such thing! He even encouraged me to read the labels and make my own decision. I really appreciate that honesty upfront.

My experience overall was good. I did not sense any deception. It seems obvious to me that Dr. Lam takes his work seriously, knows what he is talking about, and good at what he does. Unfortunately, he wouldn't gave me a chance to work with him!

Jul 16, 2012
Dr Lam really helped me!
by: Anonymous

I have suffered from adrenal fatigue for years and seen many doctors to try to get myself well. It wasn't until I came across Dr. Lam's website that i felt like I had found someone that could actually help me. I gave Dr. Lam a call about because his site said i could have a free consultation with him. Most doctors don't even offer a free consultation! You have to pay upfront before even stepping into their office. During the free consultation, Dr Lam gave me a lot of information and seemed to understand what I was going through.

I have shown a lot of improvement in my recovery and do not crash nearly as often as i used to since i started with him. i think he is truly trying to help people. He's the only one out there that really understands this condition.

His bedside manner is a little abrupt, but i think it's because he gets straight to the point and doesn't put in any fluff. its actually quite refreshing since I get the information i need quickly. being able to talk to someone that understands and can help without having to go into a doctor's clinic and waiting for hours to see someone is also great.

His fees may be a little high, but i'm sure he's a busy man. I think its worth every penny, but for those that cannot afford his fees, his wife and also a nutritional assistant is available at reduced rates to help. He says that they are personally trained by him.

Jun 14, 2012
thank you
by: Anonymous

Hi

thank you for posting this. I was at one time going to contact Dr. Lam but read how expensive it was and could not have afforded it and now I am pleased that I did not as I would have wasted my money.

poodlebell

Jun 13, 2012
Fingers Crossed
by: Anonymous

After nearly a year of working with Dr. Lam, I have decided to stop the program. I have recently become more or less bed bound due to the fatigue. I have spent almost $4,000. His program may work for those that are in mild to moderate AF, but for those that are severe AF, it was only minimally helpful. Please be aware, if you work with Dr. Lam, you are not his patient. He does not establish a patient/doctor relationship with you. His service is referred to as "nutritional coaching" and honestly, does not provide that much information on nutrition that most of us probably haven't already tried. Good luck. Please post if you have had better results. I gave it a 100 per cent and am out A LOT of money.

Jun 01, 2012
Suspicious
by: Rich

Thanks everyone. We had a free appointment recently. You cannot say that Dr Lam is lacking in passion. I genuinely think that he beleives in what he is doing. And a lot fo what he says on his site makes good sense. I also think he is a businessman and knows he can make good money - but perhaps this is tied into his belief that he is doing the right thing.

I do also think that some people can be a bit wet. However, adrenal sufferers do need to be treatd tenderly and I wonder if Dr Lam could work on his bedside manner. But none of this mattered to me. What mattered was being told without a proper examination or looking at test results that Thyroid problems were secondary and could be cured in my case. This was a bit much - even if true it seemed unprofessional to make such a speculative comment.

I have not decided yet whether I will pay for an appointment. I do think we need all the help we can get and Dr Lam does have a very good website.

May 30, 2012
Addison's Disease is REAL
by: Addisonian03

Collapsed in 2003 with secondary Addison's Disease. Adrenal Fatigue is real, but how you go about treating it is crucial, confusing, difficult and entirely possible.

I was fortunate to have an internist's tenacity to keep me trying endocrinologist's (took 3 for me) to find someone competent and then found one that is exceptional. Its easy to see, from the comments here, how when you are desperate even a huckster can look good. Like everything, much of what Dr. Lam says is true and can be proven by science. His suggested treatments are not ALL bad, but it is a very difficult chronic disease to live with.

That being said, please refer to two excellent resources for people with adrenal concerns. They are both non-profit (!) and can aid you on your way to figuring out the best way to treat your Adrenal Fatigue / Addison's Disease:

First: the National Adrenal Diseases Foundation -- www.nadf.us Good support group network for people living through this, at various stages of diagnoses / treatment.

Second: (And though I am in the U.S. I find it to be the MOST helpful resource: www.addisons.org.uk
Their Addison's Owner's manual is the best -- totally free and downloadable -- for patients and their loved ones. Helps everyone understand what its like to live like this.

Personally, I have gone from being on life-saving steroids 24/7 (Cortef) to now only needing them when travelling or fighting a cold/flu/etc. My adrenals had shut down after a car accident though my endo thinks they were fatigued for 20+ years before I collapsed (literally) with an Addisonian crisis. Today, they are back up and functioning at a low-level. Combination of taking "western" meds when necessary and maintaining "eastern" ways that address my constant low blood pressure and fatigue. For me, Tai Chi, swimming, getting between 9-11 hours of sleep per night (rarely staying up past 10 makes a HUGE difference due to bio-rhythms/adrenal schedules), increasing my salt intake throughout the day (but particularly in the a.m.) and making sure I keep to a low potassium diet (it is easily proven that Addisonian's don't retain sodium and retain too much potassium). I have changed how I work, how I live and I am grateful to be alive. That being said, it is a long road and constant struggle to live with this chronic disease. Hope this helps someone :)

May 14, 2012
Dr. Lam Website Good He Is Not
by: Anonymous

Dr. Lam's website is very good but, he however is not a very compassionate man. His free phone consultations are a joke and are just a way for him to qualify you in the sales process to see how much money he can get out of you. Why doesn't he just advertise his nutritional coaching sessions for a standard price rather than checking you out to see how much money you have. I doubt that his "super vitamins" are much better than standard high quality supplements you can get online. You won't get anything from his free phone consultation so stay away from this huckster!

May 12, 2012
Great website but need personalized care
by: CC

I have learned more about my condition on Dr. Lam's website than all other AF web resources combined. His work is even more complete than Dr. Wilson. That said if his phone consultation services were more personable and they spent more time with you for what is charged it would be better. I started the process, but it was too cost prohibitive for me. I live in Ann Arbor Michigan and found a doctor I can actually sit with and that was the best decision I ever made. A doctor can do so much more for you face to face. That said, my new doctor also does time-based phone consults…

My advice: Try to find a doctor near you if possible. If you can't, then work with a caring and knowledgeable physician over the phone who really knows AF and who charges based on the amount of time he/she actually spends with you.

For those in Michigan or near by. You should check out Dr. Boggess. I found him on this forum (don't know how to link though) website is nbwellness.com

I've been down this road for years and really feel like I'm finally heading in the right direction. I'd warn everyone from trying to do this on there own like I did --its too complex... to many idiosyncrasies and too many variables. What is confusing and frustrating to us as individuals with AF is a cake walk for doctors who have seen it hundreds of times before.

Best of Luck to everyone!

CC

May 08, 2012
aDRENALS
by: Anonymous

Hi

how disappointing after feeling a little better.
I was interested in the adrenals as I had been on seroxat, paxil,for 10.5 years and cold turkeyed, advice given by p.doc, and its now 5.5 years off and I am still having such a bad time. Reading about the adrenals I thought that this could be my problem, but not sure.

I didn't have consultations with Dr. Lam, only the first email.
I have problems if I change anything that I eat and with supplements, my symptoms get so much worse, but I bought the liposol C and tried a very small amount, not Dr. Lams one, and it made me so much worse I had to stop.

I feel I am a hopeless case but after reading your post I am glad I did not go to Dr. Lam, money was one of the reasons not too as well as my problems with supplements etc.

I do hope that you will be able to get some help.

desperate

May 08, 2012
Fingers Crossed
by: Anonymous

Just wanted to send an update on my progress working with Dr. Lam. I have been working with him consistently for approx 9 months. I have FAITHFULLY followed ALL of his recommendations. His program requires a lot of time and money so I did not want to waste my investment. I ate what he told me to eat. I took the supplements that he told me to take. I was devoted to doing the yoga workouts that he told me to do. I have been unable to work for 2 years because of this condition so I had the time to commit to his treatment. I made a tiny bit of progress in the first 6 months. I began to feel hopeful that I would get my life back. Three months ago, I had a major relapse (not really sure why) and have been unable to see any more improvements. Sadly, I am back to where I was when I began the program 9 months ago. Disheartened, I don't know if it's worth continuing on the program. It's discouraging to know I did everything right and made little to know progress. I have not really experienced the lack of compassion or rudeness that others have spoke of. I will say though, for the amount of money that I paid him ($130/phone consultation), he spends very little time on the phone and does not really answer questions with any sort of detail. At this point, I don't know if I will continue with the program. I believe his treatments may be limited for complex patients such as myself because he does not see you in person and because he is exclusively focused on the adrenals. Right now, I am considering going back to my MD and trying another round of Cortef, which from previous posts, Dr. Lam is not in favor of. Oh, what to do, what to do...

May 03, 2012
The Dr. Lam Scam - Stay Away
by: Anonymous

I have talked with many people about adrenal fatigue and this guy is the worst. When I told him I was taking low dose Hydrocortisone for the last two week and was starting to feel better, he got angy and said I will need 50 to 60mg before long and hung up.
He is bad news because if you really have adrenal fatigue, you will need hydrocortisone, herbs, vitamins and rest won't do it.

Getting used to it is hell, but you will have to bite the bullet and do it. I recommend going to www.endfatigue.com, take the Free Program and get a proper diagnosis and recommendation which you can take to a local doctor. He is spot on...

Apr 18, 2012
Is AF real?
by: Anonymous

Adrenal fatigue is controversial in the medical community. They seem to think there is no range in adrenal failures, only black and white.

I really know little about Dr. Lam himself yet do believe that adrenals can have a range of failure so different people might need different treatments depending on the severity.

AF treatment complaints seem to be similar to those of hypothyroid and ignored by many medical professionals.

Check out for yourself so you can make an educated decision.

Mar 31, 2012
got better
by: desperate

Hi

has anyone been cured of adrenal fatigue by Dr. Lam.


Mar 26, 2012
Dr. Lam is a joke
by: Shawn

Long story short, took the supplements Dr. Lam told me to buy for a few months. He told me I was in the second stage of adrenal fatigue and I did notice a little improvement in the first month. However, I didn't get any better and all he did was tell me to increase my liposomal vitamin C intake. Every time I told him I wasn't feeling any different, he told me to increase the dosage until I was gulping down bottles of vitamin C like water which became too expensive for me. I stopped the regimen after seeing how pointless the treatment was becoming. Later, with the help of my physician and psychologist, I discovered what I actually have is dysthymia.

Adrenal fatigue isn't a real medical condition but only people desperate to cure their chronic symptoms are willing to believe they have this condition like I did. Now I know better.

Feb 03, 2012
Dr Lam protocol
by: Anonymous

Been on Dr lam protocol about 2 weeks and have had improvement. Yesterday I had an almost normal person day! Worked half a day, went to child's school event and cooked dinner. Unfortunately back down today. I may have just over done it or may have had reaction to newly added supps. I am praying and hopeful. If any others that have tried the Dr Lam protocol could respond on experience

Jan 19, 2012
Fingers Crossed
by: Anonymous

Dr. Lam IS a doctor in California and is in good standing with the American Medical Association. I checked with the AMA for an expired license, complaints, malpractice claims etc., before agreeing to his program. Although I have mixed feeling about the cost of his program, I hate people making such uniformed remarks like the comment on January 17th. After 4 1/2 months, I can honestly say I have improved on Dr. Lam's program and still have a long way to go. I have worked with several of the countries TOP physicians in person to recover from adrenal fatigue/chronic fatigue and I have made the most progress thus far with Dr. Lam.

Jan 01, 2012
Not a good experience
by: Anonymous

When I saw the negative comments below, this did not surprise me..,.I will keep this brief, but my experience with Dr. Lam was definitely not a positive one. I would not advise someone to work with him. I was really surprised at the lack of compassion

Nov 16, 2011
update
by: Fingers Crossed

I have been working with Dr. Lam for almost 3 months. It is a very costly endeavor and I do often feel that Dr. Lam is taking advantage of sick, desperate people. With that being said, I am going to continue to work with him for 3 more months (because I am sick and desperate) and see if I make any progress. I am fortunate to live in an area where there are many practitioners that treat adrenal fatigue. Unfortunately, they were unable to help the severity of my condition and thus, I turned to Dr. Lam. The free appointment will basically tell you what stage of adrenal fatigue you are in and the potential cost involved in Dr. Lam helping you. Dr. Lam will tell you that the first phone visit costs $1200 (but he may offer you a deal if you are no longer working for about $800). Each additional visit is $130 (could be less if a person is able to work with his wife instead). Over the cost of a year, I estimate it could cost me around $4,000 plus the cost of supplements. If it gives me my life back, it's worth it. But if at six months I see no significant change, I won't continue the program. I agree, Dr. Lam does paint a grim picture of recovery without his help (which frankly, really bugs me). As for the supplements, I believe he does recommend many of the same supplements for people but NOT the same doses. The supplements he recommends are all from supplementclinic.com (which Dr. Lam informed me WAS owned by a relative but that he did not receive any payment from our purchases). The price of the supplements are comparable to every other medical grade supplement I have ever used so using supplementclinic.com was fine with me. Hope this helps answer your some of your questions. I will keep you posted over the next three months.

Nov 10, 2011
Curious to know
by: Anonymous

I have my free appt with dr Lam next week but I'm curious to know if he has referred you all to the same supplements? I mean for me if everyone is taking the same dosage of the same things then I would say it's a fluke.

Oct 20, 2011
Update on Dr. Lam
by: Fingers Crossed

It has been 8 weeks since I started with Dr. Lam. Although it is expensive, I have noticed a slight improvement. I was very sick when I began the program, so I knew progress would be very slow. Someone who is not in late stages of adrenal exhaustion may recover at a much faster rate than myself. I have a very long road a head of me but have been able to get out of the house more and begin to enjoy my life again, even if it's one tiny task or errand at a time. Through a combination of supplements, bone broths, breathing exercises and restorative yoga, I have begun to feel calmer, my sleep has improved and my neck pain has decreased. Dr. Lam does know what he is talking about and so far, I don't regret spending the money that I have. I will keep you updated as my treatment progresses.

Aug 30, 2011
Forked over $800. About to begin the program.
by: Fingers Crossed

Talked to Dr. Lam last week about his program. Supposedly it costs $1200 but because I am no longer able to work due to my condition, he is only going to charge a measly $800. He said that if my condition was not so serious (and it is serious), I could work with his wife and it would be cheaper. However, my circumstance is such that it will require lots of his time due to the complexity and therefore, he could not offer me a further discount. Although I am not happy about the cost, I do feel all other treatment methods have failed and I am at a last resort. After thinking about our phone conversation for about 24 hours, I decided to try to do the program. I fortunately had a few thousand dollars in an IRA that had already been losing money due to the state of our economy. I did ask if Dr. Lam's medical license was in good standing and looked him up with the state of California to see if there were any pending lawsuits or complaints against him (there were not). I begin treatment this week. I will post more in the weeks to come to let you know if it is helping or if it's a scam.

Aug 25, 2011
Highly Unprofessional
by: Tired of being Tired

I came across Dr. Lam's site while trying to research Adrenal Fatigue. I was impressed by the sheer volume of information, though upon closer inspection it was devoid of actual helpful data. It was all quite scientific-yet-vague, without a lot of actual practical advice. I also found a great number of obvious contradictions, which I found rather confusing. I started an email consultation with Dr. Lam. He told me several times that all my symptoms were obvious classic Adrenal Exhaustion with an OAT Axis Imbalance, and recommended that I set up a phone appt with Dorine (whom he neglected to identify as his wife). I set up an appt, but when the time came, she called the wrong phone number. Since I was not home (as I had told them multiple times) and she did not try my cell phone (even though I had told them multiple times that she should call me on that one, I missed the appt. Frustrated, I called them back, and they gave me an appt with Dr. Lam. Dr. Lam called long before the window they gave me, and when I called right back they told me he was with another patient and would have to call me later. The whole process was quite agitating for someone already super-stressed out, and I was surprised that someone who supposedly was such an expert on AF would treat an AF patient this way. When I finally did speak with him, he told me that I definitely had classic Adrenal Exhaustion, and then quite rudely proceeded to say that they could not treat me because he was not sure it was Adrenal Fatigue. He kept interrupting me and contradicting himself when I tried to press for explanation and clarification. In the end, I could make no sense out of anything he said, and the entire experience had only been a gigantic disappointing stressful mess. I really have nothing positive to say about Dr. Lam or his staff. His website has some useful information, but any so-called expert in Adrenal Fatigue would know better than to treat AF patients in such a degrading manner.

Jun 10, 2011
ADRENAL FATIGUE
by: Anonymous

You must realize that adrenal fatigue can take from 6 months to 2 years to heal, depending on the stage you are in. I am currently working w/Dr Lam & his wife & they are very knowledgeable. After 2 weeks, I am feeling much better, but have a few months to go. Be patient, it takes time. But one out there is an expert in this as is Dr Lam.

Best wishes to all of you!

Mar 17, 2011
Not Sure About Dr. Lam
by: Ambivalent

I have mixed feeling about Dr. Lam because I have not been consulting with him long enough to know for sure how good he is. He seems to be honest, his wife is very nice and his prices are way cheaper than a doctor and affordable to anyone with a job, $200 for the first appointment(after the free consult) and $150 per consult after that. It is the supplements that are costly and now that I know his son owns the supplement clinic I feel betrayed. Dr. Lam said he knew the quality of the lab that made those vitamins and that is why he recommends it.

Please, someone who has more experience with this doctor please comment.

Feb 10, 2011
Feeback on Recovery
by: Erin

Good morning,

I just had my consultation with the nutritionist. She told me her take on what phase she believed I was in currently. She said my situation was not complicated and just needed to be readjusted a bit in order to provide the best option for healing.

Has anyone used their information and nutritional counseling and received long term benefits? I'd like to get an idea of how the process works.

Thank you in advance!

Click here to add your own comments

Share *your* story with others! How? Simply click here to return to Adrenal Fatigue Doctor Reviews.




About Product Recommendations

Please note that while I do receive commissions from some of the things promoted on this site, I recommend them wholeheartedly because I feel they would be of benefit to you.

Advertisers/Affiliates have been hand-picked so that only quality products are recommended. I have used them in my own life and share them with you because that's what friends do.

Read my full
advertising policy
here.